Horse Racing Tips
Top Horse Racing Tips in the UK
facebook logo
twitter logo

2011 UK Flat Season Classic Races

There are 5 main classics in the UK British Horse Racing Calender. Although there are many listed events all year round, these are the 5 main, prestigous events that are watched by millions worlwide. The 5 races are open for 3 year old horses only, this is because a racehorse peaks at this age for its speed and fitness. Below is a list of the UK Classic Horse Races and a video of each of them.

The Qipco 2000 Guineas Stakes

The 2000 Guineas was first run in 1809 and is held on the first weekend in May. It takes place on the Rowley Mile course at Newmarket and is the first race of the 5 classics. It is a 1 mile race open to 3 Year Old Colts and Fillies. Famous winners have been Rock of Gibraltar, Dancing Brave and George Washington. You can view a full list of recent winners here.

2011 Winner: Frankel

The Qipco 1000 Guineas Stakes

The 1000 Guineas is the 2nd race of the classics in the UK racing calender. It was first run in 1814 and is scheduled the day after 2000 Guineas on the same Rowley Mile course. Like the 2000 Guineas, it is run over a mile but is only open to filles. Famous Winners have been Special Duty, Ghanaati and Russian Rythym. You can view the list of previous winners here

2011 Winner: Blue Bunting

The Investec Oaks

The Oaks is run on Ladies Day on the first weekend in June at Epsom. It is run over 1 mile 4 furlongs and entry only to 3 year old fillies available. History behind The Oaks is really interesting and can be found here along with a list of past winners including Snow Fairy 2010, Sariska 2009 and Ouija Board 2004.

2011 Winner: Dancing Rain

The Investec Derby

It is Britain's richest horse race, and the most prestigious of the country's five Classics. The race serves as the middle leg of the Triple Crown, preceded by the 2,000 Guineas and followed by the St Leger, although the feat of winning all three is now rarely attempted. It is one of Britain's great national sporting events transcending its own field of interest, and has a huge worldwide audience.

2011 Winner: Pour Moi

The St Leger Stakes

The St. Leger Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race in Great Britain open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies. It is run at Doncaster over a distance of 1 mile, 6 furlongs, and it is scheduled to take place each year in September. The St Leger is the oldest of Britain's five Classics. It is the last of the five to be run each year, and its distance is longer than any of the other four.

2011 Winner: Masked Marvel